About this Blog

Hello. My name is Mark Johnson and I am a musician and guitar instructor from New Orleans. I wanted to start this blog to highlight one of my favorite parts of the music industry: The Song. Without “The Song” there is no music industry. It is how we write music, how we categorize music, how we speak about and share music. A song is a perfect example of  human creativity and imagination, carefully crafted to persuade, to lament, to tell a story, to celebrate, and to illicit just about any human emotion. In this blog you will find discussions, thoughts, and opinions on the art of songwriting, analyses of popular music song structures, featured songs, as well as stories and examples of my own endeavors into songwriting and commercial songwriting, both now and in the past. Musician or not,  I hope that you will find this site both enlightening and inspiring. Now let us all go out and create  that which the world cannot do without!

Leave a comment